March 16, 2012

Filled Zucchini

Posted in Dinner tagged , , , at 6:09 pm by realityishealthy

Today was my day to have the kitchen for myself. My parents both had long days at work, and were planning on picking up Burger King on the way home… Like I was going to let that happen. Hehe.

I told them that I would be in charge of dinner, and that they would eat what ever I made and LIKE it. I decided that I would make filled zucchini because its one of my favorites, and I knew that my dad would accept it. Just like I thought, it was a great success! My dad even asked for seconds. Job well done, I would say!

The first time that I wanted to make this, I spent some time searching online for a recipe that tickled my fancy. All of the recipes I found required at least 6 different spices and 1 hour to make. I thought that was a little excessive, so I kind of just played it by ear, and made what I like. Here’s my version:

Filled Zucchini

Ingredients:

2012-03-16 17.16.23

4 zucchinis (zucchinis in Norway aren’t very large, as you can see in the picture, so you might get away with fewer)

1 pack ground meat of choice (I typically use ground chicken, but this time is was lean beef)

1 pack cherry tomatoes

2 packs mozzarella cheese

Salt

Pepper

Lemon pepper

Garlic

1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil (you can use other oils too, just remember if you choose one with a strong taste it will effect the overall flavor)

Instructions:

First of all, this made enough for dinner for 3 people, plus leftovers for tomorrow. I chose to make this much so that I wouldn’t have any left over meat. Like I said, you can adjust the recipe to however many servings you wish to get.

The first thing is to heat the oven to 200 degrees C (about 400 F). Then cut the zucchinis lengthwise, scoop out some of the middle to create a dent and place them in the form you want to use to bake them. Take the olive oil and a basting brush and coat the inside of the zucchinis with the oil.

2012-03-16 17.28.21

You can then take your meat and add salt, pepper and lemon pepper to suit your taste. I am not really a fan of salt or pepper, so I mostly use lemon pepper. Mince your garlic (I use 1 clove) and mix it into the meat as well. Roll the meat into small meatballs and place them in the zucchinis. Half the tomatoes and place one half between each meatball. I put the extra tomato halves in the dish too, because I love them!

2012-03-16 17.46.27

Bake these in the oven for about 15-20 minutes, until the meatballs are finished and the zucchini is the softness you prefer. I like mine a little bit crunchy so bake mine for 15 min. After baking, slice up the mozzarella and places the slices on top of the zucchinis. Then place the zucchinis back in the oven until the cheese is melted. That shouldn’t take more than 5 minutes.

2012-03-16 18.09.57

Doesn’t that look delish?

If you don’t think that the stuffed zucchini is enough, I sometimes make a side of sweet potato fries to eat with it, but I’ll save that recipe for another day. The good thing about this dish is that it is healthy, delicious and super filling. I love it!

5 Comments »

  1. mlhouse said,

    Sounds great! I am going to adapt this and try it with some soy-free protein crumbles (we are vegetarian) – can’t wait! Thanks. 🙂

    • Ooo, that sounds good. I might have to try it sometime myself. As you can see I’m not a vegetarian, but sometimes when I’m not in the mood for meat I make vegetarian dishes. That would be perfect when I get in one of those moods. Hehe 🙂

  2. Danny said,

    Very creative! Thanks for sharing this!

    • Thanks. I figured it was time some one shared a recipe that was a little less complicated, but just as tasty! 🙂

  3. sybaritica said,

    Terrific idea … lots of scope for improvisation!


Leave a Reply

